Athletics

Jefferson Forest High School
Athletics Department

1 Cavalier Circle
Forest, VA  24551
434-525-2674

Athletic Director:
  Jedd Zaring  jzaring@bedford.k12.va.us

Activities Director:  Katie Wood  kaitlyn.wood@bedford.k12.va.us

Athletic Secretary:  Kathy Glover kglover@bedford.k12.va.us

Athletic Trainer: Joey Lyons joseph.lyons@bedford.k12.va.us

For current JF rosters, game schedules, and results go to:
https://www.seminoledistrictva.org/

*** You can follow @JFHSsports on Twitter for updates on games, etc ***

2019-20 General Athletics Information:
Contact the Head Coach (see below) for more information on pre-season and out-of-season practice dates and tryouts

Participation requirements:
1.  BEFORE participating in any contest or practice, or pre-season conditioning, or out-of-season practice, the student-athlete must turn in a signed and completed current VHSL Athletic Participation/Parental Consent/Physical Exam Form (ALL 4 pages): a new form is required for each school year May 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020.  This form can be found at https://www.vhsl.org/vhsl-physical-form/
2.  A student-athlete must satisfactorily complete (pass) the equivalent of five (5) courses in which he/she was enrolled in the previous semester AND have continuous enrollment in five (5) classes for the school year.
3.  The student-athlete shall not have reached the age of 19 on or before the first day of August 1, 2019.
4.  The student-athlete should not be enrolled in school for more than ten (10) semesters -5 years- beginning with the 8th grade year.
5.  Student-athletes must submit a completed Parental Consent Verification Form, found on page 13 of the BCPS Athletic Requirements, Responsibilities, and Required Signatures 2019-2020 form distributed by the coach to team members.
Please note: all requirements apply to club team sports as well.

2019 Fall Sports (Tryout start date)

*Competition Cheer (Aug 5)
*Football & Basketball Sideline Cheer (May 18)
*Cross-Country-Boys and Girls (Aug 5)
*Football (Aug 1)
*Golf-Boys and Girls (Aug 1)
*Volleyball (Aug 5)

2019-20 Winter Sports (Tryout start date)

*Basketball-Boys and Girls (Nov 11)
*Indoor Track-Boys and Girls (Nov 11)
*Swim & Dive-Boys and Girls (Nov 11)
*Wrestling (Nov 11)

2020 Spring Sports (Tryout start date)
*Baseball (Feb 24)
*Lacrosse-Boys and Girls (Feb 24)
*Soccer-Boys and Girls (Feb 24)
*Softball (Feb 24)
*Tennis-Boys and Girls (Feb 24)
*Outdoor Track & Field-Boys and Girls (Feb 24)


      Exciting changes in Jefferson Forest Athletics for 2019-20!                        

*Starting this year, tickets to all JF Athletic contests can be purchased in advance online through GOFAN.com.  You then validate your ticket at the gate on your mobile phone.  This will also be the way to purchase JF season ticket Sports Passes.
Use this link to the JF Sports GoFan page:
https://gofan.co/app/school/VA7532

*Customers to our venue concession stands will now be able to purchase snacks with a credit card

Gym Advertising
2019-20 Rate Card


Vinyl Banner
$600 one year
$1500 for 3 years
  -sponsor provides the banner
  -3' x 6' -Banners will be installed in the gym and will remain in place for one year

Digital Scoretable Ad
 $400 per sport/per season (volleyball; girls basketball; boys basketball)
$1000 for all three sports per year
  -12’ wide x 30” image area or three independent 4’ x 30” displays
  -sponsor provides digital art (logos, photo, etc) and text copy
  -8 second ad rotated from 1 hour before the game, throughout the game, and for at least 15 minutes after the game.
  -table also used for other school events (athlete signings, back-to-school day, etc)

Contact: Athletic Director Jedd Zaring jzaring@bedford.k12.va.us


2019-20 Cavalier Head Coaches
 

ATHLETICS:
Cheer - Katie Wood:  kaitlyn.wood@bedford.k12.va.us
Cross Country - Colby DelBene:  colby.delbene@bedford.k12.va.us 
Football - Paul White:  paul.white@bedford.k12.va.us 
Golf - Garnet Manley:  suburban_homes@comcast.net
Volleyball - Steve Mills: smills@bedford.k12.va.us
Boys Basketball - Jeff Monroe:  jeff.monroe@bedford.k12.va.us  
Girls Basketball - Jake Whitman: jwhitman@bedford.k12.va.us 
Wrestling - Allen Hackman:  allen.hackmann@bedford.k12.va.us 
Indoor Track & Field - Ryan Marano: ryan.marano@bedford.k12.va.us
Swimming & Diving - Marty Ponder: mponder@bedford.k12.va.us
Boys Soccer - TBA
Girls Soccer - Matt Newton: mattnewton18@gmail.com 
Softball - Gary Harris: gharrisco5@gmail.com 
Baseball - Ryan Gilleland: rgilleland@bedford.k12.va.us 
Boys Tennis - Tyler Johnson: tjohnston109@yahoo.com
Girls Tennis - Brady Taylor: brady.taylor@bedford.k12.va.us 
Outdoor Track & Field- Ryan Marano: ryan.marano@bedford.k12.va.us
Boys Lacrosse - Tyler Zinck: tyler.zinck@bedford.k12.va.us 
Girls Lacrosse - Maddie Koontz  madeline.koontz@bedford.k12.va.us


ACTIVITIES:
Band - David Webb: dwebb@bedford.k12.va.us 
Theater; Film Festival - Spence White: swhite@bedford.k12.va.us 
Scholastic Bowl - Kevin Canada  kcanada@bedford.k12.va.us 
Forensics - Bryan Munson: bryan.munson@bedford.k12.va.us 
Debate - Nathan Munson: nathan.munson@bedford.k12.va.us 

2019-20 JF Sports Passes

JF Sports Passes can be purchased for individual seasons (Fall, Winter, Spring) or for all three seasons. They are good for all regular season home sporting events during the 2019-20 school year, but do not include play-off or tournament games.  This pass will NOT be honored for away games at other high schools.
There are multiple levels and pricing options.  Sports Passes can lead to tremendous savings, especially if you have children involved in multiple sports.
Options for the 2019-20 school year:

Family Pass* (all-seasons)                                    $250

Family Pass* (one season)                                    $170

Individual (non-student) Pass (all-seasons)        $135

Individual (non-student) Pass (one season)         $75

Student (all-seasons)                                              $50

Lifetime Cavalier Gold Card (senior 64+)                  $60
-Gold Cards are only sold in the Athletic Secretary's office at JFHS
-Gold Cards will be physical cards (not be a mobile phone app)
 

*Family Passes admit three to five (3-5) members of the same family

NOTE: a mobile phone will be needed to validate a JF Sports Pass at the gate.

HOW TO PURCHASE A JF SPORTS PASS

Except for Cavalier Gold Cards, all other passes are sold online GOFAN:  https://gofan.co/app/school/VA7532

-Please note: there will be a convenience fee added

For more information:
Contact Athletic Secretary Kathy Glover at
434-525-2674; kglover@bedford.k12.va.us


Links:
VHSL Athletic Participation/Parental Consent/Physical Examination Form
https://www.vhsl.org/vhsl-physical-form/



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.